Berwickshire at FRIAR'S HAUGH
Sunday 27th February 2000
by Rob Hogarth

Veteran Northern Area jockey Jimmy Walton celebrated his 190th career win with Excise Man in the Mens Open Race. The pair won as they did at the last meeting by doing well to beat the challenging Rainbow Times and Clive Storey.

A muddy and cold Friars Haugh were not the ideal conditions for the meeting, however, the good to soft going stood up well and produced some very good racing. The Ladies Open was probably the most exciting, with Kirstie Hargreave on Little Santa just loosing out to Val Jackson on Nova Nita following a tit for tat battle for much of the last circuit.

Former chaser, Parade Racer, doubled on his victory last meeting at Alnwick, by winning the Confined Race 10 Lengths ahead of Maxine Bremner on Midsummer Glen. The 17 runner Restricted Race was very close finish with the on form jockey Wilson Renwick winning riding local horse Love Actinum.

The three division of the Maiden Race produced some promising good winners who must have good potential. Tom Oats on his own Wills Perk took division 1, beating stable mate Dere Street and Clive Storey who fell at the last in the lead and Laura Hislop on Christie Mouse into second. Division 2 was won by Mark Bradburne on Harriet Graham’s Hooky’s Treat, 25 lenghts clear. The race was left wide open after the strong leading horse Senso, fell on the flat, a distance ahead, in between the third and second last. In division 3, Clive Storey was finally back into the Winning Enclosure with Dun Rose, the very well backed favourite who finished 8 Lengths clear of Bold Navigator and Maxine Bremner and Hey Chief with Peter Strang Steel.

The other race was the Members where Across The Card won for the third successive year, ridden by William Ramsay and beating the favourite Fiscal Policy.

Next Northern Area Point to Point is next Saturday, Saturday 4th March at Corbridge for the Tynedale meeting, first race 12.30.


1 Across The Card  William Ramsay (5-1)  CA Ramsay
2 Fiscal Policy    Henry Trotter (6-4f)
3 The Caffler      Rowena Ramsay(10-1)

1 Parade Racer     Andrew Richardson (6-1)  Tim Butt
2 Midsummer Glen   Maxine Bremner (6-1)
3 Whispering Steel Mark Bradburne(14-1)

1 Love Actinium Wilson Renwick (10-1)  E Jamieson
2 Border Glory  Mark Bradburne (6-1)
3 Kings Token   Jimmy Walton (8-1)

1 Nova Nita     Val Jackson (9-4)  R Black
2 Little Santa  Kirstie Hargreave (14-1)
3 Kingennie     Maxine Bremner (6-4)

1 Excise Man    Jimmy.Walton(5-1)  F.Walton
2 Rainbow Times Clive Storey (5-4)
3 Mullingar     Luke Morgan (14-1)

6 CONFINED MAIDEN (division 1)
1 Wills Perk     Tom Oates (8-1)  T Oates
2 Christie Mouse Laura Hislop (10-1)
3 Setting Sail   Val Jackson  

7. CONFINED MAIDEN (division 2)
1 Hooky’s Treat  Mark Bradburne (5-2)  H Graham
2 Lady Alice     Luke Morgan (5-1)
3 Gallant Major  Andrew Robson (6-1)

8 CONFINED MAIDEN (division 3)
1 Dun Rose       Clive Storey (5-4f)  R M Charters
2 Bold Navigator Maxine Bremner (5-1)
3 Hey Chief      Peter Strang-Steel (10-1)